Vanguard Awards

The SBAA was honored to partner with other bar associations in Chicago to co-host the 2019 Vanguard Awards, which honor the individuals and institutions that have made the law and legal profession more accessible to and reflective of the community at large.

The SBAA’s honoree was former Czar Dušan Award recipient and SBAA President Robert J. Pavich of Pavich Law Group, who was recognized along with other distinguished judges and attorneys. Robert is pictured with Chicago Bar Association President Steven M. Elrod.

We are grateful to all of those who helped make this event a success. A list of the honorees along with the acceptance speeches can be found below:

Rishi Agrawal, South Asian Bar Association of Chicago

Honorable Marvin E. Aspen, Chicago Bar Association

Karina Ayala-Bermejo, Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois

Honorable Lynn M. Egan, Women’s Bar Association of Illinois

Rudy Figueroa, Fillipino American Lawyers Association

Mitchell B. Goldberg, Decalogue Society of Lawyers

Andy Kang, Asian American Bar Association

Juan Mendez, Puerto Rican Bar Association

Robert J. Pavich, Serbian Bar Association

Polish American Association, Advocates Society

Rouhy J. Shalabi, Arab American Bar Association of Illinois

Chester Slaughter (posthumous), Cook County Bar Association

Honorable Mary S. Trew, Lesbian and Gay Bar Association of Chicago

Andrea L. Zopp, Black Women Lawyers’ Association of Greater Chicago